Interact: Join our Email ListBecome a fan on FacebookFollow the ACYOA on Twitter @ACYOAShop the ACYOA Store

Election results at the 2009 General Asembly

News Home · All articles in "ACYOA News" · Articles from 2009

Annual Elections

Delegates elected members to the Central Council, and the Nominating and Auditing committees.

Danny Mantis, Lydia Kurkjian, and Ara Janigian were elected to the Central Council, and Danielle DerAsadourian was re-elected to the organization’s governing body.

The new Central Council was blessed by the Primate after Sunday’s Divine Liturgy.

Alex Derderian, of St. Sahag and St. Mesrob Church in Wynnewood, Pa., will serve as chair; Talin Hitik, of St. Gregory Church in Chicago, as vice chair; Lydia Kurkjian, of St. Gregory the Enlightener Church in White Plain, NY, as secretary; Danny Mantis, of St. Mesrob Church in Racine, Wis., as treasurer; Danielle DerAsadourian, of St. James Church in Evanston, IL, as chapter relations coordinator; Gervork Vartanian, of Sts. Sahag and Mesrob Church of Providence, RI, as programming coordinator; and Ara Janigian, also of Sts. Sahag and Mesrob in Providence, as public relations coordinator.

Elected to the Nominating Committee were: Jonathan Dadekian (Watervliet, N.Y.), Harry Kezelian (Detroit, Mich.), and Arthur Sabounjian (Framingham, MA). Arpi Paylan (Evanston, IL) will serve as the alternate.

Elected to the Auditing Committee were: Raffi Gulbenk (Trumbull, Conn.), George Macarian (Boca Raton, Fla.), and Andrew Piligian (Framingham, MA). Nick Bazarian (Washington, D.C.)will serve as the alternate.

“This year’s General Assembly was a great success,” said incoming Central Council chair Alex Derderian. “It’s always inspiring to see youth who are this dedicated that they are willing to take time out of their personal schedule, to take time away from school, and to come and help run the organization that is so important to all of us.”

The General Assembly was chaired by Danny Mantis, with Arthur Sabounjian serving as vice chair. Lorie Odabashian served as secretary, and Ara Janigian and Krikor Javardian were appointed the sergeants-at-arms. Rev. Fr. Tateos Abdalian and Rev. Fr. Yeprem Kelegian assisted as parliamentarians.

Next year’s General Assembly and Sports Weekend will take place in Watertown, Mass. The assembly voted to hold the 2011 gathering in Charlotte, N.C.